A NEW DESIGN BLOG

Photo Credit: Sundance

I have been overwhelmed with the mail I’ve received since August from followers of Weekend Designer. Your kind words and best wishes are much appreciated.

So, what have I been up to for the past 5 months, you wonder? Trying a few new ventures.

Some have worked, some have failed; yet all is good as that is what designing is all about…innovation, experimentation and execution. I’ve been travelling — offering some pattern-making classes as well as conducting a new handbag design workshop. It is a very rewarding feeling to teach a newcomer to the world of design, skills that will unlock their creativity.

Now, I want to share them with you. In response to all the mail I’ve received, I am starting a new design blog this year called, BAG’N-TELLE.

It will basically be a fashion pattern-drafting blog much like that of Weekend Designer yet will offer some insight into the design process of fashion accessories. The blog will be more simplified in content and  show the pattern-making process. It will feature my own creations from some of my design workshops and all the projects are geared to the novice designer and the equipment available to them — meaning a domestic sewing machine and a few easy-to-use tools.

I encourage readers to use my design ideas and how-to’s  simply as a guide and make it your own. YOU be the designer. The skills are easy to learn but it is your creativity that makes it special. I hope you will follow along.

Lastly, I want to wish you all a very creative and  happy New Year.

16 Comments

Filed under Bag'n-telle

16 responses to “A NEW DESIGN BLOG

  1. …. and day 0 is here! Welcome back and thank you so much for doing this!

  2. So very glad you are back.

  3. Wow, I love your idea.

    I also love to make bags. Please see my blog if you want. I’m not a professional bagmaker, just sewing for fun.

    Lots of love and sewing greetings.
    Maks

  4. Palma

    Finally!!!! You are here, again!!!!

  5. Happy New Year and Happy New Start! Be sure we’ll follow along. Wish you great success!!

  6. Jos

    Welcome bag (haha) Don!

  7. Suze

    Welcome Back! I’m looking forward to learning more from you!

  8. Welcome Back! Happy New Year! Can’t express how happy i am to C u back in action .

  9. Julia M

    Hi and wb, and Happy New Year.

    Only just discovered WD myself so hope those nice wordpress folk keep it up a bit longer!!

    This looks an interesting blog too – thx 🙂

  10. Happy News Year

    Thank you for this new blog as interesting as the precedent

  11. Oooh, you’re back! My mind immediately began to spin as I browsed through the first posts of this blog… I’m thinking leather and silk… (maybe not in the same project).
    Thank you for educating us!

  12. Casandra

    Great!! I’ve just found Weekend Designer blog a few days ago and I was fascinated about it’s content but so sad because there where no more posts.
    I’m very glad you’re online again with this new blog!!
    And thanks a lot for sharing your knowledge!!

  13. Brunella B Rosser

    I was a visitor of your Weekend Designer Blog, and I thought it was absolutely fabulous(and it remains a favorite of mine), but this blog surpasses what you’ve done before. Thanks for teaching and sharing your knowledge and skills. I’m always inspired and learn something new when I visit. And, thanks for all of the links to more information, sources for fabrics, and supplies.

  14. JAE

    Rarely, I mean Rarely…do I find a DIY site that overwhelms me with information. I’m a DIY Lifer, and will read endlessly about many crafts, however, your blog here has me completely upended. I have to stop reading, just for now, because, rarely, I can’t absorb it all! I came here from an article in Sept ’13 Threads, looking for my daughter who is interested in bag making. Then I realized you are the same guy with a class on Craftsy. I’ve taken at least 30 of their classes, usually get a lot out of them. I will certainly have to get your class for my daughter. I will try not to get it for me, as my number of hobbies and projects are too many! There’s so much great stuff on this endless blog! I will be back, there are some things on weaving and plaiting that interest me. I’m trying not to think about designing a bag. Thank you so much for such a sharing site. I know just from that, that you are an excellent instructor.

    • Don

      Thank you for the kind words, Jae. My goal is to show that fashion design is a skill and that anyone can do it. The basic requirements need not limit the degree of sophistication of the finished product nor the quality of the components. You can work to produce the best-looking fashion accessory for your own needs, within the given constraints. Besides my design blog, Bag’n-telle, I contribute to several periodicals including Vogue Pattern, Threads, and Sew News.

Leave a comment